Think Happy Thoughts

A few more days and we are bidding goodbye to 2021. This time is a perfect opportunity to reflect and to look back on the good things that happened this year. I think many of us can say that 2021 is way better compared with 2020, though there are still challenges like the ongoing pandemic and recent Odette Typhon, we can focus on good things muna.

One way or another, there is something good that happened to us. And for us to have a better 2022, it will be nice to appreciate good things no matter how small it is. Sometimes, the fact that we are still alive and virus-free is already a good thing. Or we will have a home or a work. Things like that.

Don’t get me wrong, some people do not share the same good things that we have. It is always something to be appreciated.

Let me share some of the good things that happened in 2021. I don’t want to brag but I just want to share. Maybe, and hopefully, someone might get inspired by this.

WFH

I am thankful that, since March 2020, we are still on a work-from-home set-up. For me, this is a big deal because I can wake up at 7AM, brew coffee, eat breakfast maybe and start working at 8AM. No pressure on traffic, commuting, or even what to wear. Less time also to laundry and iron clothes during weekends.

Despite of having a regular carpool before pandemic, somehow, nakakapagod pa din to travel on EDSA and BGC. There are times that you are already tired once you arrive in the office. Nakakabawas ng energy.

I am thankful also that we can contribute significant production despite working-from-home. I am thankful also for our team.

The Team

I am thankful also that I still have work now. I don’t want to sound insensitive but many lost their livelihoods due to pandemic or some lose their job security especially those who need to reach their monthly quotas. I am thankful that there is still money credited in my ATM every mid and end of the month. There is sick-leave conversion as well and 13th month pay. Ok na yun. Wag na humahap or mag-expect ng more.

Happy 11 years also, Empire East.

Happy 11th Work Anniversary, Empire East. I’m glad I stayed.
WFH

VACCINE

I am thankful that I was able to get 2 doses of the covid-19 vaccine for free. I am planning to get also the booster shot soon.

Somebody said (I forgot who) that vaccine should be a responsibility of everyone kasi anyone should not be a carrier of the virus. If someone is protecting themselves from the virus, we should also protect them by protecting ourselves. It is always a two-way street.

Yes, you can still get the virus kahit vaccinated ka, but you will not be hospitalized anymore. Bawas workload for our medical frontlines who are working extremely hard since the start of the pandemic. Not to mention the medical expenses and emotional trauma of being hospitalized.

Second Dose Done

COMMUNITY PANTRY

I am thankful to be part of a community pantry. For a few months, we were able to share food with our less fortunate friends.

My only contribution here is time and effort. I am not matulungin in general. But I know that pandemic strike harder on some people so it will be nice to help in any possible way we can.

Nakakatuwa that many individuals are contributing financially and in kind. Minsan may biglang bigas and vegetable na lang na dumadating or canned good or anything. Something to eat.

At the end of the distribution, you can see the relief in the eyes of the recipients na alam nilang may kakainin sila for a few days. And they are very grateful for that.

This actually helps me appreciate more the things I have.

We are able to share some vegetables, rice, egg, canned tuna, noodles, and bread.
Community Pantry in Broadway Centrum
Some donors are just stopping by and handing out some items for the Community Pantry. Thank you very much.

MACBOOK

I am thankful that I was able to buy a new laptop. Previously, I was using a company-issued laptop pero nasira, so I have to buy my own na. Using my old laptop, medyo nakakatakot to use on personal stuff like watching Netflix or saving personal files kasi MIS might check.

Now, I can freely watch Netflix or HBO Go. No one will check my browsing history also.

Disclaimer, I bought this from the fund I loaned on PAGIBIG so technically it is payable for the next 2 years.

HOME IMPROVEMENTS

I am thankful that I was able to buy a few home stuff like a center table, kitchen drawer, floor lamp, study table. I also won an oven toaster at the Company Christmas party.

This is the tito in me. I really planned on renovating my place but since kinapos sa budget, go na muna sa mga gamit. Most of these are from Lazada budols and only one from Ikea budol.

Sabi nga, unti unti lang and before you know it, ok na pala sya.

SHAWN

I am thankful for a bagong matabang pamangkin, dagdag sa reregaluhan pag birthday and pasko but ok pa din.

LYKA

I am thankful for Lyka. I don’t know if you are familiar with this social media app but it is like Instagram, but you earn gems every post and every like. Gems are accepted as payments in a few merchants. And dahil dito, I was able to dine and shop cashless.

I will definitely be grateful for this given my materialistic background.

Cashless Transactions – all paid using Lyka Gems only.

LIFE LESSONS

I am thankful for life lessons this year. There are some lessons nga lang that are learned the hard way but, nevertheless, there is always an opportunity to be better.

Appreciate more. Enjoy life. Be sensitive. 2022 Ready.

I am thankful for jowa this 2022. Manifesting. 🙂

Leave a comment